Home » Six Sigma » ITIL® Foundation Examination Syllabus



ITIL® Foundation Examination Syllabus

ITIL® Foundation Examination SyllabusITIL Life Cycle

Aspiring professionals are tested on the following components of the ITIL® framework. We have marked the important topics in bold. (brackets indicate the depth of the of the knowledge required for that component wherein  comprehension means a high level understanding of what it is and how it works while awareness means knowing its existence and functions.)

  • Service management as a practice (comprehension)
  • The ITIL® service lifecycle (comprehension)
  • Generic concepts and definitions (awareness)
  • Key principles and models (comprehension)
  • Selected processes (awareness)
  • Selected functions (awareness)
  • Selected roles (awareness)
  • Technology and architecture (awareness)
  • Competence and training (awareness)

For the ITIL® service lifecycle, there are 5 stages and a total of 26 process and 4 functions.

Service Lifecycle Stage Processes & Functions
Service Strategy
  • Strategy Management For IT Services, Service Portfolio Management
  • Business Relationship Management
  • Financial Management For IT Services
  • Demand Management
Service Design
  • Design Coordination
  • Service Catalog Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Availability Management
  • Capacity Management
  • IT Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Supplier Management
Service Transition
  • Transition Planning and Support
  • Change Management
  • Service Asset & Configuration Management
  • Release & Deployment Management
  • Service Validation and Testing
  • Change Evaluation
  • Knowledge Management
Service Operation
  • Event Management
  • Incident Management
  • Request Fulfillment
  • Problem Management
  • Access Management
  • Functions: IT Operations, Technical Management, Application Management, Service Desk
Continual Service Improvement
  • Seven-Step Improvement Process

Taking the ITIL® Foundation Examination

The owner of the ITIL® has delegated the examination administration to Accredited Training Organizations (ATO) or one of the Examination Institutes. Professionals aspiring for the ITIL® v3 Foundation Certification would need to contact the ATO or Examination Institutes by themselves and arrange for the examination.  You can also get in touch with us for training and certification need.

Cost of ITIL® Foundation Examination

Unlike most other popular certification examination, there is no official cost for the ITIL® Foundation examination as ITIL® has left the examination administration to the ATO or Examination Institutes. It varies from region to region.  Generally the average cost including training is between $250-$450.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.